We’re Expanding!

Hi folks! Long time no read.

As all three of you know, this is a movie blog. When I started Coffee and Illithids, I had no idea what I wanted to write about, but I decided to focus on one of my favorite art forms: movies. I also had an interest in writing about my longest-running hobby, tabletop roleplaying games (TTRPGs for short or RPGs for shorter), but I wasn’t really inspired to write about them at first. Now, the fire is burning bright, so I’m going to be expanding the scope of Coffee and Illithids to include posts about RPGs.

What about RPGs? I’m not sure yet. Tips and tricks on how to be a better player or Game Master (GM), my thoughts on different games, where I get my inspiration from, whatever tickles my fancy. I don’t have much of a plan, but I know that people who run and play RPGs always want to get better and improve their craft (myself included), and I think I can help.

So, why listen to me? Well, I’ve been playing RPGs for nearly ten years, for starters. I’m strongly rooted in Dungeons and Dragons, having been constantly playing one edition of it or another since I was in high school, but I’ve played games using systems including Pathfinder, Shadowrun, Dread, and more. I’ve run countless adventures for many different gaming groups, big and small, as well as played in many different games throughout the years. I’ve seen the good, the bad and the ugly from GMs and players alike, and I’ve made my fair share total failures during my decade of Dungeons and Dragons. I’ve got a little bit of insight into how the hobby and the culture surrounding the hobby works.

So, grab your cloak of Elven windwalking and hold your Flame Tongue high, ’cause Coffee and Illithids is going to be getting nerdy nerdier.

-David

Leave a Reply

